Switch to ADA Accessible Theme
Close Menu

What are the Types of Alimony in Florida?

mother and son

Photo by conrado.

In the state of Florida, there are many different types of alimony one can be awarded after the end of a marriage. These types of alimony are dependent on a variety of circumstances including financial statuses and the amount of time the marriage was upheld. Florida alimony types vary and are important to know if you are involved in a divorce case. Here’s a look at the different Florida alimony types.


This type of alimony is intended to help a spouse get on their feet by providing job training or education training. In order for rehabilitative alimony to be approved, the spouse receiving the alimony needs to have a plan for the rehabilitation, and the plan needs to be followed throughout the entire course of the alimony. If not, the spouse becomes at risk for modification or elimination.


Durational alimony is provided to help a spouse for a delegated amount of time. In cases where durational alimony is awarded, there is usually no need for assistance long term. Most of the time, modifications to durational alimony cannot be applied to the length of time. However, it is important to note that durational alimony is not provided for a longer period of time than the marriage itself.


Bridge-the-gap alimony is provided for no more than two years, and is intended to help a spouse make the transition from married to single life. This type of alimony is not eligible for modification because it is a short-term alimony.


Permanent alimony is provided when a spouse does not have what they need to support themselves and provide their own necessities of life. The length of time permanent alimony is awarded is based on the length of the marriage. This type of marriage is not usually awarded to short-term marriages unless their are unique circumstances.

Call DeVoe Law Firm today to discuss your alimony case and see if you’re eligible to receive alimony.

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn